Looking for a free download of

Shadows Linger by the author Glen Cook

in pdf?

We have Shadows Linger available now to read in the superior epub and mobi formats! Simply click any of the direct download buttons below for instant access.

If you prefer to read online this book by Glen Cook, then press the ebook reader icon instead.

Shadows Linger
Genre: Adventure , Fantasy , Science Fiction , War
Series: Book 2.0 in the The Chronicle of the Black Company series
Ratings: ★★★★☆
Publisher: Tor
Pub Year:
ISBN: 9780812508420
List Price: 0.00
Download: EPUB MOBI


Mercenary soldiers in the service of the Lady, the Black Company stands against the rebels of the White Rose. They are tough men, proud of honoring their contracts. The Lady is evil, but so, too, are those who falsely profess to follow the White Rose, reincarnation of a centuries-dead heroine. Yet now some of the Company have discovered that the mute girl they rescued and sheltered is truly the White Rose reborn. Now there may be a path to the light, even for such as they. If they can survive it.


"Timely and timeless…The author of the Black Company series brings a stark realism to his tales of imaginary lands."

--Library Journal (starred review) on The Tyranny of the Night

"Complex and compelling…It is a powerful fantasy, combining a fast-moving plot with an introduction into this world of patriarchal schism, greedy churchmen and nobles, and cynical soldiers bent on survival."

--VOYA on *The Tyranny of the Night

"The thing about Glen Cook is that with The Black Company he singlehandedly changed the face of fantasy--something a lot of people didn't notice and maybe still don't. He brought the story down to a human level, dispensing with the cliché archetypes of princes, kings, and evil sorcerers. Reading his stuff was like reading Vietnam War fiction on peyote."
--Steven Erikson, author of
Gardens of the Moon*

About the Author

Born in 1944, Glen Cook grew up in northern California, served in the U.S. Navy, attended the University of Missouri, and was one of the earliest graduates of the well-known "Clarion" workshop SF writers. Since 1971 he has published a large number of SF and fantasy novels, including the "Dread Empire" series, the occult-detective "Garrett" novels, and the very popular "Black Company" sequence that began with the publication of The Black Company in 1984. Among his SF novels is A Passage at Arms.

After working many years for General Motors, Cook now writes full-time. He lives near St. Louis, Missouri, with his wife Carol.